Verified Coffee Data

The best espresso machine under $500

Most people should get the Ninja Luxe Café Premier ($499.99). It grinds, measures and froths for you, so you get great lattes and cappuccinos with almost nothing to learn. If you want to learn to make espresso by hand, get the Breville Barista Express ($499.95) instead.

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
Best for most people
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)

Grinder, scale and hands-free milk built in. Watch out: it’s loud, and some owners report grinder or frother problems fixed under warranty.

See it on Amazon$499.99 at Amazon · as of Oct 9, 1:09 PM PT
Breville Barista Express
Best if you want to learn
Breville Barista Express

Grinder built in. Watch out: you steam the milk yourself, which takes practice.

See it on Amazon$499.95 at Amazon · as of Oct 9, 1:09 PM PT

Updated October 9, 2026 by Erin Rose. We earn a commission if you buy through these links, at no cost to you.

Pick in 30 seconds

Already own a grinder?

Breville Bambino Plus
Best if you already own a grinder
Breville Bambino Plus

TechRadar found its shots smooth with thick crema, and it steams the milk for you. Ready in seconds. Warranty: 2 years. With a hand grinder it comes to $508.95.

Watch out for: no grinder in the box, and a small drip tray.

See it on Amazon$399.95 at Amazon · as of Oct 9, 1:09 PM PT

Buying it as a gift?

Get the Ninja Luxe Café. Someone who loves café cappuccinos but has never made espresso will find it the easier machine to start with, because it measures the coffee and froths the milk for them. The Barista Express is a great gift for someone who wants a new hobby.

Your first latte

Here’s what making one actually looks like on our top two.

Ninja Luxe Café

  1. Fill the water tank and pour beans into the top.
  2. Turn it on. Ninja says it’s ready in under 30 seconds. CoffeeGeek saw 30 to 45 seconds.
  3. Choose your drink. It grinds the right amount of coffee by weight.
  4. Pull the lever. It packs the coffee down for you. Lock the handle in and press brew.
  5. Pour milk into the jug, pick a foam setting, and let it froth on its own.
  6. Pour the milk over the espresso. Empty the drip tray often.

Barista Express

  1. Fill the water tank and pour beans into the top.
  2. Turn it on and give it a minute or two to warm up, says Tom’s Guide.
  3. Hold the portafilter (the handle with the coffee basket) under the grinder. It fills the basket with fresh grounds.
  4. Press the grounds flat with the tamper, lock the handle in, and brew.
  5. Steam the milk yourself with the wand. Expect a few tries before it’s silky.
  6. Pour the milk over the espresso, then wipe the wand.

Once you’re comfortable, a common starting point is about 18 grams of ground coffee, stopping at about 36 grams of espresso, in about half a minute. Tom’s Guide got exactly that, 18 in and 36 out in 28 seconds, on the Breville Bambino.

What each one costs, all in

Every machine here is under $500. The ones without a grinder can go over once you add one, so here’s the real total with the cheapest grinder that can handle espresso.

Bambino Plus + hand grinder
$508.95
Ninja Luxe Café (grinder built in)
$499.99
Barista Express (grinder built in)
$499.95
Bambino + hand grinder
$358.95

machine   grinder you’d need to buy

Grinders in this chart: KINGrinder K6 ($109.00).

Amazon prices checked Oct 9, 2026, 1:09 PM PT.

Will it fit under your cabinets?

The Ninja and the Barista Express carry their bean hoppers on top, so leave room to open the lid. Measure from your counter to the bottom of your upper cabinets. Many kitchens have about 18 inches.

0"6"12"18"18" cabinet gap14.6"Ninja Luxe Café15.9"Barista Express11.8"Bambino Plus

Drawn to scale from each maker’s listed height and width.

What can go wrong

Ninja Luxe Café

Barista Express

No safety recalls. We checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s list on October 9, 2026 for the Ninja Luxe Café, Barista Express, Bambino Plus, Classic E24, Bambino, Magnifica Start (auto milk), Stilosa, Dedica Maestro Plus, CM5418.

Also looked at

We left out pod machines like Nespresso. They’re easy, but you can’t use your own beans.

Words you’ll see

Grinder
Turns whole beans into grounds. Espresso needs them very fine, finer than most drip-coffee grinders can go.
Shot
One small espresso. A latte is a shot plus steamed milk; a cappuccino has less milk and more foam.
Portafilter
The handle with a small basket that holds the coffee. You lock it into the machine.
Tamp
Pressing the grounds flat in the basket so water flows through evenly.
Pressurized basket
A forgiving basket that makes a decent shot even from pre-ground coffee. Also called dual-wall.
Steam wand
The metal pipe that heats and foams milk.
Descale
Running a cleaning solution through to clear mineral buildup from your water.

Questions people ask

Do I need a grinder for an espresso machine?

For real espresso, yes. Espresso needs very fine, fresh grounds, and most grinders made for drip coffee can’t go fine enough. The Ninja and the Barista Express have one built in. A hand grinder like the KINGrinder K6 ($109.00) is the cheapest add-on.

Can I use pre-ground coffee?

Yes, with a pressurized (dual-wall) basket. The De’Longhi Stilosa, both Bambinos, the Barista Express and the Gaggia come with one. Shots come out smooth, but flatter than with fresh grounds.

Is an espresso machine better than a Nespresso?

If you want to use any beans you like, yes. A pod machine is easier, but you’re limited to pods.

Should I get one with a built-in grinder?

If you don’t own a good grinder, yes. It saves money and counter space. Buy them separately if you’d like to upgrade the grinder later.

Compare the specs

Show every spec, with sources
Grinder
Ninja Luxe Café: Integrated conical burr, 25 grind settings, built-in scale (weight-based dosing)sharkninja.com
Barista Express: Integrated conical burr, 16 grind settings (plus internal upper burr adjustment)breville.com
Bambino Plus: Not built intechradar.com
Basket size
Ninja Luxe Café: 53 mmcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 54 mmbreville.com
Bambino Plus: 54 mmbreville.com
Baskets in the box
Ninja Luxe Café: Standard (non-pressurized) double basket plus a deep proprietary 'Luxe' basket (up to 40 g) for quad shot and brewed coffee; no single basket in the boxcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 1-cup and 2-cup, in both single wall (non-pressurized, for fresh whole beans) and dual wall (pressure-regulating, for pre-ground coffee)assets.breville.com
Bambino Plus: 1-cup and 2-cup, single wall (for fresh-ground coffee) and dual wall (pressurized, for pre-ground coffee)assets.breville.com
Ready to brew
Ninja Luxe Café: Under 30 (spec table); CoffeeGeek lab saw a 30-45 s preheat before the first shotcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: Not stated
Bambino Plus: 3 secondsbreville.com
Temperature control
Ninja Luxe Café: Adjustable, 3 brew temperature settings (low / medium / high)toptenreviews.com
Barista Express: PID digital; adjustable +/-4F in 2F steps from the 200F defaultassets.breville.com
Bambino Plus: PID digital, not user-adjustableassets.breville.com
Milk
Ninja Luxe Café: Automatic hands-free: steam wand plus magnetically spun whisk in a dedicated jug; 4 presets (steamed, thin froth, thick froth, cold foam); manual steam also possiblesharkninja.com
Barista Express: Manual steam wand, 360 degree swivelbreville.com
Bambino Plus: Automatic hands-free microfoam (3 temperatures, 3 texture levels) plus manual steam wandbreville.com
Water tank
Ninja Luxe Café: 2 L (68 oz)coffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 2 L (68 oz)assets.breville.com
Bambino Plus: 1.9 L (64 oz)assets.breville.com
Size
Ninja Luxe Café: 14.6" tall, 13" wide, 13.4" deepcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 15.9" tall, 12.4" wide, 13.1" deepbreville.com
Bambino Plus: 11.8" tall, 7.7" wide, 12.6" deepseattlecoffeegear.com
Warranty
Ninja Luxe Café: 1 yearsharkninja.com
Barista Express: 1 yearbreville.com
Bambino Plus: 2 yearsbreville.com

Each figure links to where it came from, usually the maker. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it in a source we can link.

How we picked

Erin Rose runs Verified Coffee Data. We don’t run our own lab tests. Instead we read each maker’s manual, the reviews where testers used these machines (Tom’s Guide, CoffeeGeek, TechRadar, Whole Latte Love and others), and owner forums. Then we link every fact so you can check it.

Amazon pays us the same percentage on every machine on this page, and brands don’t pay us to be picked. Prices come from Amazon’s own data, checked Oct 9, 2026, 1:09 PM PT, and we hide them once they’re a day old. More on how we check.