Verified Coffee Data

Ninja Luxe Café or Barista Express? Get the Ninja, unless you want to learn.

Get the Ninja Luxe Café Premier for great lattes and cappuccinos with almost nothing to learn. It weighs the coffee and froths the milk for you. Get the Breville Barista Express if you want to learn to make espresso by hand. They cost about the same: $499.99 and $499.95.

Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)
Our pick for most people
Ninja Luxe Café Premier (ES601)

Grinder, scale and hands-free milk built in. It’s newer and loud, and some owners report grinder or frother problems fixed under warranty.

See it on Amazon$499.99 at Amazon · as of Oct 9, 1:09 PM PT
Breville Barista Express
Get this one to learn
Breville Barista Express

Grinder built in. You steam the milk yourself, which takes practice.

See it on Amazon$499.95 at Amazon · as of Oct 9, 1:09 PM PT

Updated October 9, 2026 by Erin Rose. We earn a commission if you buy through these links, at no cost to you.

The short version

Ninja Luxe CaféBarista Express
Measuring coffee✓ Weighs it with a built-in scaleBy time, so the amount can vary
Milk✓ Froths it for youYou steam it by hand
Other drinks✓ Drip coffee and cold brew tooEspresso and hot water
Add-onsOnly Ninja’s own parts fit✓ Baskets and tampers are easy to buy
Track recordNewer: first reviewed in 2024On sale for years; one owner reports 7 to 10 years
Warranty1 year1 year

A check mark shows which one comes out ahead on that line.

Which one is right for you

Ninja Luxe Café Our pick

You want a good latte or cappuccino before work without thinking about it. You like that it also makes drip coffee and cold brew. It’s also the better gift for someone new to espresso.

Barista Express

You enjoy the craft. You want to learn to pull a shot and steam milk, maybe pour latte art someday, and you like that its parts are standard and easy to find.

Your first latte

Ninja Luxe Café

  1. Fill the water tank and pour beans into the top.
  2. Turn it on. Ninja says it’s ready in under 30 seconds. CoffeeGeek saw 30 to 45 seconds.
  3. Choose your drink. It grinds the right amount of coffee by weight.
  4. Pull the lever. It packs the coffee down for you. Lock the handle in and press brew.
  5. Pour milk into the jug, pick a foam setting, and let it froth on its own.
  6. Pour the milk over the espresso. Empty the drip tray often.

Barista Express

  1. Fill the water tank and pour beans into the top.
  2. Turn it on and give it a minute or two to warm up, says Tom’s Guide.
  3. Hold the portafilter (the handle with the coffee basket) under the grinder. It fills the basket with fresh grounds.
  4. Press the grounds flat with the tamper, lock the handle in, and brew.
  5. Steam the milk yourself with the wand. Expect a few tries before it’s silky.
  6. Pour the milk over the espresso, then wipe the wand.

Will it fit under your cabinets?

Both carry the bean hopper on top, so leave room to open the lid. Measure from your counter to the bottom of your upper cabinets. Many kitchens have about 18 inches.

0"6"12"18"18" cabinet gap14.6"Ninja Luxe Café15.9"Barista Express

Drawn to scale from each maker’s listed height and width.

What’s in the box

Ninja Luxe Café: Portafilter, milk jug, two baskets, assisted tamper, funnel, cleaning brush and disc, descaling powder, hard water test kit. source

Barista Express: Dosing funnel, Razor trimming tool, portafilter, single and dual wall baskets, scoop, tamper, milk jug, cleaning gear, and a water filter with holder. source

For both, you’ll want fresh whole beans. A small kitchen scale helps with the Barista Express.

What reviewers said

“For a machine that controls the dose and ratio for you, the espresso is surprisingly consistently good.”

CoffeeGeek on the Ninja Luxe Café, January 2026 · read the review

“the dose usually sits at 17.8g, give or take .15g, across 10 measurements.”

CoffeeGeek on the Ninja Luxe Café, September 2024 · read the review

“There is no getting around it, this machine is loud.”

CoffeeGeek on the Ninja Luxe Café, January 2026 · read the review

“In cup after cup, the Barista Express produced perfect shots of espresso, and it was superior when it came to steaming milk too.”

Tom's Guide on the Barista Express, April 2023 · read the review

What can go wrong

Ninja Luxe Café

Barista Express

The Ninja is newer, so there are fewer long-term owner reports. Both have a 1 year warranty.

No safety recalls. We checked the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission’s list on October 9, 2026 for the Ninja Luxe Café, Barista Express.

This page covers the Ninja Luxe Café Premier, model ES601. The Luxe Café Pro (ES701) is a different, pricier machine.

Questions people ask

Does the Ninja make cold foam?

Yes. It has a cold foam setting, and it also makes cold brew. source

How is the Ninja Premier different from the Pro?

The Premier (ES601) makes espresso, drip coffee and cold brew, with 4 milk froth presets. The Pro (ES701) adds a hot water spout and a fifth froth preset. source

Does the Barista Express have hot water for an Americano?

Yes. It has its own hot water spout, so an Americano is easy. source

Does the Barista Express turn itself off?

Yes. It goes to sleep after 1 hour and turns fully off after 3. source

Is the Ninja better than the Breville?

For easy lattes and cappuccinos, yes. It measures and froths for you. For learning espresso and upgrading parts later, the Breville is better.

Is the Ninja Luxe Café loud?

Yes. CoffeeGeek called it loud, with a high-pitched screech when milk steaming starts.

Every spec, side by side

Show every spec, with sources
Grinder
Ninja Luxe Café: Integrated conical burr, 25 grind settings, built-in scale (weight-based dosing)sharkninja.com
Barista Express: Integrated conical burr, 16 grind settings (plus internal upper burr adjustment)breville.com
Basket size
Ninja Luxe Café: 53 mmcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 54 mmbreville.com
Baskets in the box
Ninja Luxe Café: Standard (non-pressurized) double basket plus a deep proprietary 'Luxe' basket (up to 40 g) for quad shot and brewed coffee; no single basket in the boxcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 1-cup and 2-cup, in both single wall (non-pressurized, for fresh whole beans) and dual wall (pressure-regulating, for pre-ground coffee)assets.breville.com
Heating
Ninja Luxe Café: Single thermoblockcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: Thermocoilbreville.com
Ready to brew
Ninja Luxe Café: Under 30 (spec table); CoffeeGeek lab saw a 30-45 s preheat before the first shotcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: Not stated
Temperature control
Ninja Luxe Café: Adjustable, 3 brew temperature settings (low / medium / high)toptenreviews.com
Barista Express: PID digital; adjustable +/-4F in 2F steps from the 200F defaultassets.breville.com
Pre-infusion
Ninja Luxe Café: Automatic soft pre-infusion (quad shot uses a different pre-infusion); no user control foundtomscoffeecorner.com
Barista Express: Low pressure pre-infusion followed by 9 bar extractionbreville.com
Milk
Ninja Luxe Café: Automatic hands-free: steam wand plus magnetically spun whisk in a dedicated jug; 4 presets (steamed, thin froth, thick froth, cold foam); manual steam also possiblesharkninja.com
Barista Express: Manual steam wand, 360 degree swivelbreville.com
Water tank
Ninja Luxe Café: 2 L (68 oz)coffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 2 L (68 oz)assets.breville.com
Size
Ninja Luxe Café: 14.6" tall, 13" wide, 13.4" deepcoffeegeek.com
Barista Express: 15.9" tall, 12.4" wide, 13.1" deepbreville.com
Warranty
Ninja Luxe Café: 1 yearsharkninja.com
Barista Express: 1 yearbreville.com

Each figure links to where it came from, usually the maker. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it in a source we can link.

Not sold on either?

How we picked

Erin Rose runs Verified Coffee Data. We don’t run our own lab tests. Instead we read each maker’s manual, the reviews where testers used these machines (Tom’s Guide, CoffeeGeek, TechRadar, Whole Latte Love and others), and owner forums. Then we link every fact so you can check it.

Amazon pays us the same percentage on every machine on this page, and brands don’t pay us to be picked. Prices come from Amazon’s own data, checked Oct 9, 2026, 1:09 PM PT, and we hide them once they’re a day old. More on how we check.